The more I seek you, the more I find You.

Psalm 91:1  He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High Shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.

So i largely suck at writing blogs i get it.

Hopefully in the run up to Christmas the festive juices will start to flow and I’l feel a little more creative.

But anyway…

Here’s a little something.

I was wholly uneducated about London town before i came. I thought for instance that walking from tube stop to tube stop was out of the question believing they were so spread apart. I’ve come to learn that people don’t appreciate dawdlers…you pick up your pace or you get trampled, and I now know to not get on the tube at rush hour unless I want to be breathing someone else’s breath, in what is a seriously tight squeeze.

For the past few weeks I’ve been attempting to discover the clandestine London. The areas which are tucked away and rarely trodden. So…after being in Senate house library (on Russell Square) each Wednesday i make an effort to take a different route to Soho where i meet with people from church. This has proved fun, tiresome at times due to awful navigation skills but, equally rewarding.

Just off from the rammed Covent Garden, alive with the heavy tread of soles on the worn out pavement, away from the coffee machines working double time to grind the beans to satisfy the demands, and the repetition of the finger on the camera’s shutter snapping endlessly at the street performers, is an overgrown, wild, and eclectic garden taking refuge from the city scape. It is dwarfed by the monstrous buildings which surround it, yet, silenced by the slight separation from the urban hum. Wildlife dances from leaf to leaf and couples mooch within, satisfied by the green from the grey. Many miss it.
I felt almost naughty being inside. But more than that it made me think. It’s like our relationship with God. We go about our daily lives, usually consumed with the roaring nature of technology, work, people, and, our own desires. God can so easily be drowned out by our choice of escapades. It’s not until we seek the silence and step away from this that we discover where God is. Like the garden he’s been there all the time, immovable and waiting for us to stop and discover, and he’s beckoning us in. He’s always wanting to talk to us but we’re just too absorbed elsewhere to hear. But, when we do find Him, we find such deep satisfaction in His presence, His garden is far more bounteous than the delights i found, His grass grows greener, and His flowers bloom brighter and He wants us in there with Him.
It made me think of the lyrics to a song which i think i may have posted before…

“The more i seek you, the more i find you. The more i find you, the more I love you.
I want to sit at your feet, drink from the cup in your hand. Lay back against you and breath,
hear your heart beat. This love is so deep, it’s more than I can stand.
I melt in your peace, it’s overwhelming.”

Lord, give us the eyes to see You and the ears to hear You. May we find You in the mundane and the scurried days and want to sit at Your feet. I pray that I will fully come to understand that You have so much more to offer than the world can, and you wait for me to enter into Your beautiful presence. May I seek You more.

4 comments
  1. Lozenge said:

    quite the writer aren’t we? I love this meg. So true. I get so distracted by the day to day. Thanks for this xxx

    • thanks lozenge you little love. my grammar and punctuation is shocking but sometimes i just get a massive urge to write and it comes out in one giant blabble.
      yeah! so simple, yet so hard to do!
      we miss you!xxxx

  2. Claire said:

    Megan! I’m ashamed to say that I have only just caught up with this blog…! Praise the Lord for procrastination (!) because this post has really spoken to me. thanken you muchly! Beautifully written and a beautiful (and super challenging) message. Loved the photo too….what an illustration!! :) xx

    • I’m so glad! I honestly have sucked at writing it so much recently, but i just love when i do. it’s such a release.
      So great to see you tonight! xxx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 111 other followers

