Blessed are the pure in heart.

Matthew 6:8

Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God.

Search me, O God, and know my heart today;
Try me, O Saviour, know my thoughts, I pray.
See if there be some wicked way in me;
Cleanse me from every sin, and set me free.

God sees to the very pit of our hearts and he knows our very deepest and corrupted thoughts..there is no hiding from Him. In 1 Chronicles 28:9 it says “… the Lord searches every heart and understands every motive behind the thoughts.” i feel ashamed thinking about this passage and  thinking of all the times i think and have thought something negative or un-holy . Imagine if we said everything we thought out loud, I’m pretty sure we’d be very much disliked. However God, our holy and divine creator sees everything and still loves us more than we can comprehend. But this doesn’t mean we don’t change our ways. In the psalms, King David prays to God and asks Him to deal with his heart,‘Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me. Cast me not away from your presence, and take not your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and uphold me with a willing spirit (Psalm 51:10-12) We need to daily cry out a prayer like this to the Lord asking to be made clean, because our hearts need constant renewal. We need to spend time with Him allowing his spirit to purify us.

To see God is surely the ultimate thing we want.. it certainly is for me. God promises here that we will see Him. We will see him through spiritual vision…through faith. In the pure heart, the Lord will dwell, and makes his presence known.
John 14:23- Jesus answered him, “if anyone loves me, he will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and We will come to him and make Our home with him.
Leave a Reply

