God Bless America

As the views of this blog are mainly from Americans, i thought it only necessary that i devoted a blog entry to you and your country, talking about a few personal pros and cons.

– I love chaos, especially when groups of friends/family all wear them together.

– I LOVEEE disney…thanks Walt.

– I love the history of America, and John Wayne…why isn’t there more men like him?

-Food. Oooooh food. s’mores, oreos, butterfingers, Reese’s, Twinkies, Jolly ranchers, Life savers, peanut M&M’S, Big red. oh boy oh boy.

-I love English/American pronunciation differences…aluminium for example.

– I love that you have birthed some amazing writers…namely Fitzgerald and Carson Mccullers.

-Your star spangled banner probably beats our union jack…maybe.

-I love that i can use an american accent whenever I’m doing a sarcastic voice or a funny remark…i wonder if that works both ways.

I do however…

-feel sad that Americans think British people have bad teeth. I only learnt this was the case last year whilst chatting to some Americans in Kenya. Just because the Bristish population don’t schedule regular time to dye our teeth white with harmful products, doesn’t mean our teeth are bad. I think you should re-think that.

-I feel sad you don’t have a monarchy.

and that you don’t drink tea (excuse me if you do)

-I feel sad you don’t eat yorkshire puddings on a regular basis or maybe even know they exist.

-and have you ever seen an electric kettle?

thats about as good as I’ve got…and it seems that the pros are outweighing the cons…BUT, don’t go thinking you’re better than us now….England will always be the land of dreams.

Over and out x

1 comment
  1. Bex said:

    Megs, your sweet cousin Bexy here 🙂 I LOVE this post! I’m buried deep in the library and laughed out loud when I read:

    “I feel sad you don’t eat yorkshire puddings on a regular basis or maybe even know they exist. and have you ever seen an electric kettle?”

    Haha, these are possibly the two things that make me saddest about this country too 🙂

    Love you babe xxx

Leave a Reply

